Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Coconut Oil – More Benefits

on July 19, 2012

I have been writing about my experiences with oil pulling and to sum:

1. My teeth are whiter
2. My gums look healthier
3. A stubborn wart is unexpectedly disappearing (after 10 days it is flat, skin-toned, barely noticeable)
4. Digestion has improved
5. Liver detox as evidenced by increased bile production
6. Some weight loss (Since my stomach bug – a contributor to the weight loss – I have lost 7 pounds in 2 weeks …… probably all of it water)
7. Hair and skin healthier – hair lustrous and smooth, skin cleared and evenly toned – acne subsided)
8. MUCH higher energy
9. A foot that has been stubbornly “athletic” (Like in the athlete’s foot kind of way) since I was diagnosed with Lyme 4 years ago is mysteriously clearing up — and I’m not applying coconut oil topically. The foot has hard yellow skin, dry skin …… just hideous. Nothing worked. Now parts of it are smooth. (?)
10. My eyesight has improved (?) — (I have been struggling with on again/off again blurry vision)
11. Appetite seems more regulated (When I’m having flareups I find my stomach stops growling and I don’t realize I’m hungry until my blood sugar dips. I also don’t tend to feel “full” and sometimes eat more than necessary. Besides the stomach sensations, my brain doesn’t seem to have that ignition that turns on the “satiation” mechanism)
12. Joint pain improved
13. Increased phlegm production as if my lungs are getting a cleaning, too
14. Less dryness (I tend to have a dry nose, dry ears, dry eyes, dry mouth ….. they’re talking about Sjogren’s being a potential problem for me) – the dryness being relieved isn’t something that lasts all day. It’s usually clustered around my dose of oil and lasts a few hours)

Now I’ve read more about ingesting it and not just pulling (*Note – don’t do a pull and THEN swallow. Simply take one tablespoon.*)

It is reputed to do a number of things – a NUMBER of things. Once vilified as a saturated, artery-clogging, heart-busting fat (during the ’80’s and early ’90’s “fat free craze”), there seems to be new research on its benefits.

Here’s one article:

http://www.coconutresearchcenter.org/article10013.htm

Since I’ve started consuming it as well (NOT after I pull — I take a separate tablespoon . I ALWAYS spit the swished stuff), there have been some instant gratifications:
1. Guaranteed BM the morning after
2. My thyroid meds seem to kick in pretty swiftly after drinking some coconut oil
3. Improved mood
4. Increased libido (uhhhh, huh, huh, huh)
5. Bouts of confusion are GONE
6. Concentration is pretty sharp – creativity is back – lots of razor sharp thoughts/better work performance
7. Far less flatulence (I’m not sure I like this ….. farting is fun). 🙂
8. My circulation has improved and I feel less susceptible to the A/C during this heat wave

Here’s a link that explains more about what it does and how much to take (based on body weight) :

http://www.hybridrastamama.com/2012/01/160-uses-for-coconut-oil.html


One response to “Coconut Oil – More Benefits

  1. Jefferey Whisnant says:

    Liver Detox is an easy-to use, two-part cleansing and detoxification program formulated to simultaneously support, protect, stimulate and assist with the body’s natural detoxification of the liver with natural minerals, vitamins, herbs and amino acids””;::

    Warmest wishes http://foodsupplementdigest.com/lecithin-benefits/

Leave a Reply

