Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Manuka Honey with Bee Venom – In Practice

on May 15, 2012

I bit the bullet and ordered Manuka Honey with Bee Venom after some research and feeling comfortable with who I was ordering it from. At $38 for a jar, I knew this was a chance I was taking. I will say, however, that when the pain is great enough you start thinking crazy things and start BUYING stuff. Well, at least I do.

It came in the mail last week. I had read some credible articles about its use in Europe – one such article was from BBC News.

So here I am. The instructions suggest taking 1-2 tsp./day, stating you should start with 1/4 tsp. and increase. I did this. The website touts it as a remedy for arthritis (at the very least, I could certainly use that – especially since mine is becoming so widespread and far more severe), adding it may take “a month or two for results” (I’m hoping this is not a piece of cheese to string me along and get me to buy TWO jars of it before throwing in the towel). So after my 1-week stint on this “protocol,” I don’t feel any results. I feel strangely invigorated for a short while after ingesting it, so I know something in there is effecting me. I guess it remains to be seen if it works. My other concern is that I will take it and some mysterious remission will coincide with my having taken it for a month or two and that I’d falsely attribute my well-being to the honey. How will I know?

I don’t know. I must try it, though. Naproxen isn’t touching it. Icy Hot works just a smidge’. Ibuprofen isn’t doing a thing. I just have to keep plugging away. If nothing else, I feel proactive.

So some sites state that bee venom can “cure” Lyme. Others statue Manuka Honey’s antibacterial properties will do the trick. So I’ve ordered some of both. The taste is peculiar – really thick and strong. I must say it isn’t a real pleasure to eat. I’ll keep you posted on progress – some Herx might be feedback enough. So far there isn’t any that I’m aware of, but the arthritis was pretty bad when I ordered it so that’s no measure.


9 responses to “Manuka Honey with Bee Venom – In Practice

  1. Like all you posts, they are informative and personal. You sound like a very rational person when describing the thought of remission happening while taking the Manuka Honey and not knowing which thing is going on with your body. $38 is a bit expensive, but co-pays for some of my antibiotics are more and I dont flinch at paying those costs. I think this is a very positive step and am going to be keeping a close eye on your progress by blog. Good luck and I wish you some pain relief soon.

    • Becki says:

      Thanks so much. The depressing thing is that other accounts I’ve read suggested it might take a month or two. I also don’t know if I should do anything to reduce my inflammation before being tested for the other things the doctor wants to do …… LOL. Who thought a jar of honey would be so thought-provoking. And thanks for saying I sound rational. I sometimes feel ridiculous trying all these different strange things

      • I really do wish I would get back to blogging, but I am enjoying your posts so much that I prefer to comment on yours than work on my own! What you have to realize is that you may be trying different treatments, but you are giving each time to work and not mixing things so you do not know what is working or causing you to react. I may be repeating myself as the last two weeks have been hell, but I have been reading about myofascial massage after meeting a woman who does this for a living and said that it creates a healthy circulation for better blood flow and cleansing thereby reducing the overall inflammation. I have called a person I trust dearly who is a doctor and she said there is a woman at her office that does this and if I choose to go there, she will advise the woman that I need to be worked on like an onion – slowly peeling away the layers as she knows how sick I have been from Lyme and the tenderness and pain it brings with it. This is in Walpole, MA. Some insurance companies cover medical massage, I haven’t checked with mine, but her prices are from $40 for 30 minutes to $80 for a full hour and with all the other expenses I (we as a group) have incurred, I do not find this extreme at all. The woman I met while getting my IV’s last week is from Saugus, MA. Again, I have given you my email address if you want me to try and look into this further for you. No matter how sick we are, it’s always a good thing to think we are helping another. Kath

      • Becki says:

        Oh indeed. Thank you very much. I had a BIG success with reiki from a friend of mine. That’s another thing I should try again. To improve my circulation and blood flow, I’ve started Natokinase – it’s a supplement extracted from a Japanese food made of fermented soy. There’s warnings on it not to take it if you’re on blood thinners or are prone to anemia, so I’m cautious about “recommending” it. But my doctor commended my improved circulation the other day – without knowing I was on it . So there must be something to it. I know it’s high in Vitamin K for one thing.

      • Well thanks for more information; I also have had Reiki a few times with good results, but I think I will get more benefit from myofascial massage. I am unable to take Natokinase as I was put on low-dose aspirin due to a mild heart issue (thank you again Lyme) and had horrific nosebleeds daily and missed my period for 2 months. The moment I stopped the aspirin, I got my period. My hemoglobin had also dropped 2 points! Who would have thought that baby aspirin would do that? So at least you gave good info again and reasons why you wouldn’t want to take it. Thank you. Fondly, Kathi

  2. Liz says:

    Hi, I just received my jar of Manuka honey and had just a tiny bit; I figure I’ll work my way up. I didn’t get honey with bee venom though and now I’m wondering if I should have… Please report back in a month or so on how you’re doing!
    Liz

    • Becki says:

      Liz, good luck with it! I’ll say that it made my throat feel raw – — like I had been coughing a lot? I have gone off of it for now because I have a LOT of labs coming up measuring inflammation and things and wasn’t sure about rocking the boat. I’m definitely going to have at it again though. Let me know how you’re doing with it! What are you using it to treat? Straight out Lyme or arthritis?

      • Liz says:

        Hi Becki,
        I am taking it for straight up Lyme (and ehrlichia). I have been doing 1 tsp 2/day for about 1 week now and before that I was taking half a tsp. 2/day. I wasn’t feeling any differently at all until today when I had what I think was a mini herx. Now who knows if it’s from the honey or not… Because of insurance issues I was off my birth contorl pills for a week and only started back up the day before yesterday so that could be what happened today.

      • Becki says:

        Liz,

        Thanks for the input! I’ve stopped taking mine for right now because I have some labs in July (inflammation, RA tests, etc.) and don’t want anything to interfere. I feel horrible today. It’s drizzling here and my knees feel fine until I go downstairs — real subtle — but the fatigue is pretty powerful. I do want to try the honey again after my tests — keep us updated! And yeah, it’s hard to know what causes what. I herxed BIG TIME on the salt protocol last summer and then I got a new job and didn’t want to be all sick so I took myself off of it.

Leave a Reply

