Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Lyme as an STD Revisited ….

on March 10, 2012

I have heard it may be an STD in the same vein that Syphilis is, since both are spirochetes. My doctor dismissed this, and having perused the internet I did not see anything very credible to suggest otherwise.

But I thought I would post some links I found in a Lyme Group I belong to on Facebook (Christian Lyme Disease Support …. that’s what they’re called. However, I have not seen much Biblical things posted so don’t let that deter you from joining).

Here is one suggesting it may be contracted orally (through French kissing): http://www.martinimplants.com/oral-spirochetes.php

And another from a doctor saying it has been detected in semen and vaginal fluids: http://www.canlyme.com/sex.html

Some other sources (even some that are ambivalent about whether or not it could be sexually transmitted) suggest a large amount of co-occurring in sexual partners/cohabitants.

This contradicting information – including whether or not I continue to carry the bacteria after treatment – is dizzying. I just want to be responsible and do the right thing. Both my doctors maintain that I no longer carry it – but what about that bad Herx I experienced when I was on antibiotics for strep?


5 responses to “Lyme as an STD Revisited ….

  1. Vitamin B says:

    You have observed very interesting points! ps nice website.

  2. Vitamin B says:

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  3. Tom says:

    I think they say this because bb seeks low oxygen environments (nerve tissue, cartilage) … within twelve hours! Wish I could recall where I read this, but not today.

    I don’t know how any doc can definitely state that it is gone, given the false negative test results, especially given the data which suggests persistence. Don’t get me wrong, I hope it is so. You seem to be doing well, and that is encouraging,

    • Becki says:

      Tom it’s been very nice hearing from you. I’m having a second remission. My other one was 9 months and right now I’m at about month 7. So I’m nervous. LOL. Not ready to give up this freedom. But I have a new lease on life and am appreciating it like never before, knowing it could be gone tomorrow. Maybe that’s why I have Lyme. My attitude needed some shaking up.

      I hate to say it, but I don’t know if I could ever believe it to be totally gone either considering how many false negatives I had.

      It’s been nice hearing from you.🙂

Leave a Reply

