Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Recipes & Hints: Lyme & 17-Day Diet

on August 11, 2011

(*If you haven’t read my other posts about the 17 diet, you may be wondering what it has to do with lyme disease. The short answer is that it’s increasing my energy level, I’ve wanted to get rid of the excess weight I’ve gained from the antibiotics and doing less activities, it’s helping my thyroid I think, and countless other things*)

The first cycle of the 17-day diet is rather monotonous. The meats I’m allowed are basically fish, eggs, chicken breast, turkey. PERIOD. I like chicken – but to eat it EVERY day? Psssh! And I could live without turkey. I eat it on Thanksgiving and am happy with it, but never ever buy it. I like eggs … particularly omelettes with cheese and stuff that I CAN’T have!!! I hate fish. They can all just swim away from me.

Sooooo …………

I needed to make this more interesting.

Dr. Mike recommends a tablespoon of olive oil/day. I’ve been sauteeing veggies in it and adding chicken. A couple of dreamy things I’ve discovered:

Chicken & Broccoli:
Mix together:
Olive oil and red wine vinegar
Add himalayan salt – a good dash
Add cracked peppercorn – a good dash
Tablespoon of oregano
Tablespoon of lemon juice
2 Tablespoons fat free parmesan

Warm up cooked, diced chicken breast in this. When it’s starting to warm up substantially (or if you want it browned, etc.), add fresh broccoli and cover to steam the broccoli.

THIS is awesome.

Strange Stirfry:
Sautee diced celery & red onions in olive oil with fresh garlic and oregano. Add a dash of himalayan salt and cracked peppercorns.
When cooked a little, add sliced tomatoes and cover.
When the tomatoes’ juice is reddening the olive oil, add diced chicken.
When the juices from the tomatoes seem to be drying up, add soy sauce.
This is a peculiar combination, but it’s wonderful. I assure you!

To Make Your Life Easier:
Broil chicken breasts in bulk and store in the fridge. Broil them for 10 minutes on each side (ensure the juices are running clear and there’s no pink inside).

Craving Sweets/Carbs?
One thing that helped me tremendously was having some fruit if a craving came on.

Another thing is the probiotic snack they suggest. The book states you can have sugarless yogurt; it is suggested you buy plain yogurt and add unsweetened preserves/jelly to it. I tried this and used Polaner All Fruit. It’s AMAZING and it curbs the cravings.

The book is right about eating regularly scheduled meals/snacks and not letting yourself get hungry.


Leave a Reply

