Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Lyme: No Sweat?

on July 20, 2011

They say you don’t know what you got ’til it’s gone. Sometimes you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone and it returns.

I was sweating today. I was dimly aware during an epsom salt bath that I was sweating for the first time in eons. Today I was sweating. It was hot, but it’s been hotter in recent memory.

I didn’t realize I haven’t been sweating. I haven’t felt hot to the touch or like I needed to sweat. Nonetheless, it’s a bit disconcerting.

Never was I a very sweaty person. You wouldn’t have to wring out my shirt after a workout. However, I thought I was always normal. I used to work in a restaurant and a trip into the kitchen would make my head itchy with sweat, my shirt damp, etc. I’d go home feeling “nasty” and in need of a shower.

Fast-forward a few years …. hot and humid weather doesn’t get a rise out of me.

I googled it today and don’t know what to make of it. Is it my bum thyroid? Is it my adrenals? Is it my nervous system? Is it some combination thereof?

Googling “lyme” and “sweating” makes me see that I should be sweating excessively. I don’t know if it’s tied into that.

I thought more about the epsom salts, that I used partly for muscle fatigue and partly for a recommended “detox” (it’s reputed to extract toxins from the pores), and saw that it should make people sweat more when they take a tubby.

I don’t know what’s suddenly making me sweat a bit more normally (I will say I was sweating fairly lightly). Maybe it’s the salt protocol I’m on? Maybe because I’m drinking more water? Maybe something’s kicked in?

I have more energy lately. I don’t feel perfect, but I feel more functional. This is a good thing.


2 responses to “Lyme: No Sweat?

  1. Ekaterina says:

    Hello!

    I hope you got totally well…
    I’m currently trying to understand what causes my problems…
    The Lyme test Igg came back positive for only one proteine p.41 b.garinii.
    Probably that was what I was looking for.
    I hope so.
    I don’t sweat at all, my eyes and mouth are dry, I feel joint and muscle pain, ptotofobia, fibromyalgia…
    And you know I hope it is Lyme, because being misdiagnosed forever makes me feel even worse.
    I hope to recover and to start seating because I can’t stand the heat!

    Greetings from Russia

    • Becki says:

      Ekaterina,

      Nice to hear from you! Wow, I still can’t wrap my head around people so far away having Lyme Disease — something that even people here in the USA still seem to want to think of as a regional problem. Do you think it is even harder to diagnose over there? What are the attitudes in Europe about Lyme?

      I find the Lyme tests to be very confusing, too. Worse is that the medical community doesn’t have a consensus about how to interpret them. I think they measure antibodies and those change as the disease progresses, so they have to give certain tests and certain points and if we don’t remember having a rash or a timeline to pinpoint the illness then they can’t figure out what test to give ……… UGH!

      Have they tested you for Sjogren’s Syndrome? That causes a lot of dryness and pain as well. Here’s a link to more info on it: https://www.sjogrens.org/

      Please keep in touch and tell me how the diagnosis is going.

      You’re in my thoughts and prayers. The diagnostic part of the illness — no matter what it is – – I think is the worst. We hope it’s this or that because it’s less painful/easier to treat. Or we hope it’s NOT this or that because it could be fatal. We mentally try them all on for size, thinking about what it would be like ……. such an emotional roller coaster.

      All my love to you in Russia.

Leave a Reply

