Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Salt Protocol Continued …(Lyme)

on July 1, 2011

I found lots of conflicting information about how to get started wtih the salt protocol (taking vitamin c & himalayan salt in conjunction to beat lyme disease).

The basic dosage I’m seeing is 1 gram of each per 15 lbs of body weight. I’m trying to see something more concrete. (*Please speak to a doctor before embarking on a new treatment! There are some medications that don’t jibe well with salt or with certain supplements and this could be dangerous for some people*)

Everywhere states to drink lots of water since both salt and vitamin c are water-soluable, and the water will flush out any excess.

One website mentions the emergence of lyme disease in Japan and attributes it to the recent upsurge in low sodium soy sauce use. Another mentions that cows seem to never have trouble with lyme disease, and how our bovine friends LOVE salt – in fact, they lick it all day.

I am not seeing any articles about this being an urban legend or any blogs that say “don’t waste your time.”

Since I have nothing left to lose, I’m going to give it a whirl. I do think it’s strange that my whole life I have detested salt and have been pretty low-sodium my entire life (I’m one of those weirdos that rubs salt off of pretzels).

I’m finding capsules can be purchased for about $14.95 (some websites are lower or higher and they tend to include 90 capsules). I bought a 500 gram bag at my local health food store for $6.95. I have no idea what the translation is, but it seems to be cost-effective. I’m dumping a 1/2 teaspoon in a glass of water and pounding it.

It doesn’t taste as gross to me as the typical table salt does. It seems less … potent?

At any rate, I’m going to give it a whirl. If there is anyone reading this that knows exact dosages (every website talks about increasing your dose but never talks about timelines or amounts), then please contact me and give me more information!

Wish me luck.


Leave a Reply

