Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Today. Precious Today.

on April 20, 2011

TODAY – April 18, 2011:

I had today off from work and it’s April vacation. I took my son to see the baby animals at a local farm (it’s a pretty big to-do, here in our county). We walked around the grounds for a couple of hours, touring the buildings on the property, checking out the animals, taking photos… and I didn’t have trouble keeping up. I didn’t have to sit down. I didn’t have to cut our visit short.

We saw turkeys, hens, pigs, sheep, rabbits, cows, goats …… pretty much everything imaginable. And I looked. And I snapped photos. And I smiled.

This sounds pretty conventional, doesn’t it?

So … what’s abnormal about it? I wasn’t checking my cell phone to see what time it was and wondering if we had been there long enough – would this half hour do? Would this hour suffice? Is 45 minutes fair enough?

I wasn’t sitting down and trying to recharge my batteries so I could continue.

I wasn’t wishing I was somewhere else. I wasn’t oblivious to the smile on my son’s face because I was concentrating so hard on how to wrap this up so I could take a bath.

I was present. Fully present.

After that? I cleaned the house. Not perfectly [heh, heh], but it’s an improvement.

After that? We went for a WALK. Yes. In the cool drizzle. My knees rebelled not one bit.

After THAT?! We colored Easter Eggs. I set up two different dye kits after boiling the eggs and chilling them. I laid down the newspapers and supervised my son. I took pictures and marveled at his artwork – and it was sincere. It wasn’t some robotic response to what he was showing me. It was genuine. I interacted with him.

Today I was the kind of mom I used to be. I felt free. I was present. I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll feel good tomorrow. Maybe I won’t. But today is a gift.


2 responses to “Today. Precious Today.

  1. islandeyes says:

    Nice๐Ÿ™‚ – Enjoy these days and know that there will be many more like it!

Leave a Reply

