Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

So I Went to the Doctor and Guess What She Told Me, Guess What She Told Me ….

on April 16, 2011

I finished the Doxycycline regiment. It advised me to stay out of the sun and I really did. Even hanging out in the shade gave me a glowing tan. People were raving about how healthy I looked, and I had actually never felt so unhealthy in my life.

The pills did nothing, if you asked me. By now I had so many symptoms, I had to write them down. I looked up Lyme Disease on the computer and found I had EVERY symptom at one time or another except the Bell’s Palsy (the facial paralysis) and the bull’s eye rash.

I was exhausted and could barely stay awake. Early to bed, late to rise, and naps every chance I got. My arms felt unbearably heavy and I stopped wearing pants with no pockets or belt loops …. I needed to rest them on something all the time. I was horribly cold and I was starting to have chronic halitosis; I brushed my teeth furiously, rinsed with Crest Pro Health, Flossed …. and five minutes later I was forced to pop gum in my mouth. (And how harshly I used to judge people with that problem). I was so constipated that it hurt to walk and none of my pants fit – no laxative and no amount of them seemed to provide any relief. The nerve pain was becoming unbearable. Sometimes the stabbing feeling almost felt like it was some unseen force piercing my skin. Literally, I would have to touch the site of pain to ensure there wasn’t some outside force doing this. There was a headache sometimes that I can’t begin to describe. It felt like a cold steel screw twisting deeper and deeper into my skull. My knees and hands could predict rain – even if there wasn’t a cloud in the sky and nothing but the blue beyond. I knew. I was always right. When the rain came, even the finest mist felt like bullets. I felt like I was being tortured from within.

The doctor said my lyme test was negative. She gave me instructions on how to take a new med she was going to give me. It was steroids. For Rheumatoid Arthritis.

My test was negative for RA, yes, yes. But she was certain I was among the 6% or 12% or 2% – whatever – that falsely test negative.


Leave a Reply

