Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Oil Pulling & Cold Sores ……..

on October 17, 2012

I had started oil pulling again and felt that “tingling sensation” and saw the bubbling near my lip.  A cold sore was brewing.  I can say that oil pulling expedited the cycle.  It went from minute blisters to a healing scab in three days.

Typically I use Abreva and opted to not use it this time to see what oil pulling would do on its own.  It did what Abreva typically does, only faster.  My son, unfortunately, has been sick.  He’s very talkative and it’s hard to swish for twenty minutes straight without his needing something or having a question, so the success has been stunted.  I imagine, however, that oil pulling AND Abreva would be a powerhouse for cold sores.

I don’t heal very well as a general rule.  Usually bruises stubbornly adhere to my skin long after the bruises of my healthier counterparts.  Cuts and sores take longer to diminish.  Since having Lyme Disease, it’s even worse.    Cold sores – and their scabby aftermath – typically haunt me for a couple of weeks or so.  Three days is VERY fast for me.

The elimination of a stubborn and colossal wart after embarking on oil pulling is another miracle – I had done nearly everything under the sun to get rid of it up until then.    It has not returned.

I have switched from coconut oil (which got rid of the wart) to sunflower oil.  I’m more tolerant of the taste and texture.  It seems to get equal results but for some reason the coconut oil seemed to do more for my complexion.

That’s my 50-cents for the day. Just one more good reason to try oil pulling if you haven’t yet.  :)

2 responses to “Oil Pulling & Cold Sores ……..

  1. Carole Ramke says:

    Thanks for the info on oil pulling. Our coconut oil seems too thick and I get tired after a few minutes, but I can still see the benefit to my gums. I will try sunflower oil.

    Here is my remedy for a cold sore: As soon as you feel the tingling sensation, soak a cotton swab or small piece of cotton in mouthwash containing at least 14% alcohol. Hold it gently on the spot for at least five minutes, which is usually enough time to soak through the skin and kill the pesky virus. Then it can go away before breaking out. If this works for you, please pass it on.

    • Becki says:

      Carole, thanks so much for the cold sore remedy! I get enormous ones. When my son was born I had one that ran from the top of my upper lip to just below my nose. When my son was born. Do you know how many people wanted “mama and baby” pictures? LOL. There were LOTS of profile shots of me. Ha ha. Yeah, I’ll have to give this a whirl. Listerine is supposed to be good for athlete’s foot, by the way. :)

      I couldn’t deal with the coconut oil. In the summer when it was hot and it liquefied it was okay, but otherwise I have to sort of “chew” it to liquefy it. Blehhh. :) Nice hearing from you and good luck with the sunflower oil!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 876 other followers

